The World Affairs Council is governed by a 64-person Board of Trustees. Past Chairman who remain in good standing are also members of the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees are composed of some of Orange County’s top business, academic, government, and social leaders. The Trustees in turn have designated an Executive Board to provide policy and operational direction for the Council’s programs, membership, fund-raising and financial affairs, and educational activities. These efforts are supported by four standing committees, drawn from the Trustees and the Council’s members.

Judge James P. Gray (Ret.) was nominated by the Board of Trustees and elected by the general members as Chairman of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Board of the World Affairs Council of Orange County Chapter for 2017 – 2018. The primary function of the Board is to introduce Orange County to leaders of foreign countries and prominent national figures by facilitating dialogue between Orange County’s political and business leaders and these influential individuals through regular monthly meetings, seminars, lectures and presentations.

World Affairs Council of Orange County Trustees

Class 2016-2019

Class of 2017-2020

Class of 2018-2021

Janis Agopian

Cyrus Ameri

Michael Baroni

Kenneth August
August Law Group

Dr. Cigdem Coyle

Juan Basombrio

Joey Bendretti

Barbara Crofts

Annie Chu

Regina Campbell
Harker, Campbell & Sage LLP

Linda DiMario
Greater Irvine Chamber of Commerce

William Edwards

Tom Campbell

Donna Gilbert-Vann

Helen Haig

Susan Choi
Law office of Choi & Choi

Hon. James Gray

Jeff Hobert

Shawn Collins
Sidley Austin LLP

Dr. Mark Chapin Johnson
Chapman University

Mani Kang

Lawrence Hoodack

Bijan Kian

Sukhee Kang

Ayla Kalani
J.P. Morgan

James Mayer

Reza Karkia

Rick Putnam

Mary-Christine Sungaila

Young Kim

Liz Maxson


Michael R. Lawler, Jr.

Mark Minyard
Minyard Morris

Hasan Nouri
FluvialTech Inc.

Isaiah Leslie

Diana Megrian

Darius Panapour

Fred Minager

Rick Muth
Orco Block Products

Alberto Sandoval

An Nguyen

Ken Petersen
First American Trust

Lucinda Salinas
Cornerstone Wealth Advisors Inc.

Kendra Puryear

Mario Rodriguez

Hon. Tully Seymour

Naseem Qader

David Sheraton
R&D Medical Products, Inc.

Daniele Struppa
Chapman University

David Shilling

David B. Smith
SevenGables Real Estate

Dr. Garo Tertzakian

Van Tran

David Stone
Western National Group

Lorelei Tanji
UC Irvine

Gaddi Vasquez

Norman Tanber

Fred Whitaker
Managing Partner- Cummins and White. LLP
Chairman- Republican Party of OC

Ina Von Ber

John Lafare

Rose Tsai
Law Office of Rose W. Tsai & Associates

Becky Williams

Cynthia Shakarian

Kathleen Urquidez

Michael Withrow

Eric Thomas

Nora Valenzuela

Seda Yaghoubian

Trustees Emeritus

Dr. Tom Coad
Fred Forgy
Errol Mathieu
Dr. Harry Sahota
George Hanna Sr.
Jerry Harrington
Herb Nootbaar
Libby Pankey
Henry Segerstrom
Hal Smith Jr.
Joanne Sokolski
Theodore Wallace


Ambassador George Argyros
Ambassador John Malott
Ambassador Robert Tuttle
Ambassador Gaddi Vasquez
Ambassador Linn Williams
Serge Tomassian, Esq.